The Hooligan Turned Holy Man – review by Kabir

Book by Harsha Shastry

The Hooligan Turned Holy Man is a book that we received a while back by an up and coming author, Harsha Shastry. It follows a reporter, as her life slowly changes upon interaction with an unusual “godman”. Unusual in her eyes, as all the godmen she had seen before were hypocrites who never practiced their own teachings. However, upon meeting Sangli Baba, she soon realises that he is more of a teacher than a traditional godman, a person who cared more about imparting knowledge on how to live a good life than preaching religion. Once a gangster, he decided to completely change his lifestyle for the better (Hence the title, “Hooligan Turned Holy Man”).

Author Harsha Shashtry (right)

The book features key philosophies that could change anyone’s life who care to follow them. Though they are simple, and sometimes they feel more like common sense than a principle to live by, the mantras are definitely effective, many of which match with the knowledge that I gain from my mother on a daily basis 🙂 (that is one of the highest forms of compliments I know how to give).

Though there was a lot of time, too much time in fact, between my reading of this book and the writing of its review, I can confidently say that I have at least had the time to draw parallels from the book in my daily life. I definitely encourage the author, Harsha Shastry, to keep writing and imparting the knowledge that he has gained from his experience in life. I would recommend this book to anyone who feels that they have yet to fulfill their idea of an ideal lifestyle, because I know that reading this book will take them one step closer to their goals.

Enjoy!

Kabir Datta

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑